Joint statement by President Christofias and the Presidents of the EU Institutions on the next MFF (2014-2020)

The President of the European Commission, José Manuel Barroso, the President of the European Parliament, Martin Schulz, the President of the European Council, Herman van Rompuy and the President of the rotating Council Presidency, the President of Cyprus, Demetris Christofias have emphasized the need for the future European budget to portray the EU’s overall goals into solid investments for growth and jobs. The next Multi-Annual Financial Framework (2014-2020) should make a significantly contribute to the battle against the recent economic crisis. Ahead of the upcoming European Council on 22-23 November, the four Presidents restated that they share a mutual commitment to kick-start all the actions required  to reach a mutual  agreement backed by all European parties by the end of this year.